General Information


Official name:  The Republic of Azerbaijan
Date of establishment:          the 28th of May 1918


Azerbaijani State Symbols:

State symbols of the Republic of Azerbaijan are: the Flag, the Emblem and the National Anthem. 


The National Flag of the Republic of Azerbaijan

The National Flag of the Republic of Azerbaijan consists of three horizontal stripes equal in length. The upper stripe is blue, the middle is red, the lower is green colored. In the center of the red stripe on the both sides of the flag there is a white crescent and eight-angled star. 

The three-color national flag of Azerbaijan was accepted by the government of the Democratic Republic of Azerbaijan on November 9, 1918. After the collapse of the Democratic Republic in April 28, 1920 and the establishment of the Soviet regime this flag was relinquished in Azerbaijan. Yet the flag was restored by the order of the Supreme Medjlis of the Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic and was declared the national flag of the Autonomous Republic on November 17,1990. At the same time the Supreme Medjlis of Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic petitioned to the Supreme Council of the Azerbaijan SSR for recognition of the three-color flag the national flag of Azerbaijan.

The Supreme Council of the Azerbaijan Republic considered the petition of the Supreme Medjlis of Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic and approved the three-color flag the national flag of the Azerbaijan Republic on February 5, 1991.


The National Emblem of The Republic of Azerbaijan

The National Emblem represents an image of oriental escutcheon, placed on the arch composed of oak branches and wheat ears. On the escutcheon in the background of the National flag colors of the Republic of Azerbaijan there is an image of the eight-pointed star and in the center of the star there are tongues of flame.


The National Anthem of the Republic of Azerbaijan

Music by : Uzeyir Hajibeyov

Words by : Ahmed Javad


Azerbaijan, Azerbaijan!

You are the country of heroes!

We will die so that you might be alive!

We will shed our blood to defend you!

Long live your three-colored banner!

Thousands of people sacrificed their lives

You've become the field of battles.

Every soldier fighting for you,

Has become a hero.

We pray for your prosperity,

We make sacrifice our lives to you

Our sincere love to you,

Comes from the bottom of our hearts.

To defend your honor,

To hoist your banner,

All the young people are ready.

Glorious motherland,

Azerbaijan, Azerbaijan!


National Holidays:  
The New Year's Day January 1-2
The Women's Day March 8
The Victory Day over fascism May 9
The Republic Day May 28
The Day of National Salvation of the Azerbaijani People   June15
The Armed Forces Day June 26
The National Independence Day  October 18 
State Flag Day of Azerbaijan November 9
The Constitution Day November 12
The National Revival Day November 17
The World Azerbaijanis Solidarity Day December31
Novruz five days
Religious holidays:  
Gurban two days
Ramadan  two days
Commemoration days:  
20 January  January 20
Khojaly genocide  February 26
The day genocide of Azerbaijanis March 31


Geographical data


86,6 thousand square km (12% of the territory are covered by forests, 1,7% - by water, 54,9% - by agricultural lands, (including 30,6% - by pastures , 31,4% are other lands). The country is situated in the latitude 38° and 42° of north and in the longitude of 44° and 52° east.

Average annual temperature   (2012)  + 12,1⁰C  
Average temperature in January + 2,9⁰C
Average temperature in July  +26,2⁰C
Average annual quantity of precipitations    605,8 mm


Administrative structure: (2013)  
Capital   Baku
Number of administrative units:  
Autonomous Republic 1
Regions 66
Towns 78
Urban districts 14
Settlements 262
Rural territorial units 1721
Rural settlements districts 4255


State borders:

Borders with Iran (765 km) and Turkey (15 km) in the south

Borders with Russia (390 km) in the north

Borders with Georgia (480 km) in the north-west

Borders with Armenia (1007 km) in the west


The length of the widest area of Azerbaijan section of the Caspian Sea is 456 km.


 Population  (at the beginning of  2013):

Population size, thsd. persons     9356,5
Population density, per 1 sq. km  108
Of total population, %:  
Urban population 53,1%
Rural population 46,9%
Of total population, %:   
Men 49,7%
Women 50,3%
Natural increase of population  (2012)  13,0%
Life-span (by age)  (2011):  
Total population 73.8
Men   71.2
Women 76.5


Composition of population by nationality (at the beginning of 2012): 

(Of total population, %) :  
Azerbaijanis                      91,6
Lezghins 2,0
Russians 1,3
Armenians 1,3
Talishes 1,3
Avars 0,6
Turks 0,4
Tatars 0,3
Tats 0,3
Ukrainians 0,3
Tsakhurs 0,1
Georgians 0,1
Jews 0,1
Kurds 0,1
Grizes 0,04
Udins 0,04
Khinaligs 0,02
Other nationalities 0,1
State language: Azerbaijani



The religion in Azerbaijan is separated from state. All religions are equal before the law. 

The majority of the population is Muslims. At present there are more than 380 registered religious communities in Azerbaijan. Christianity is represented by the orthodox, catholic and protestant branches, as well as by different sectarian communities. There are 3 Jewish communities – Mountain Jews, Ashkenazi Jews and Georgian Jews.


Political system:

Azerbaijan is a democratic, legal, secular and unitary republic.

The state power in the Republic of Azerbaijan is based on a principle of division of powers: In political system in terms of implementation of the state power Azerbaijan is a presidential republic. 

The Head of State is President. The President of the Republic of Azerbaijan is elected for a 5-year term by way of general, direct and equal elections, with free, personal and secret ballot. On October 15, 2008 Ilham Heydar oglu Aliyev was elected President of the Republic of Azerbaijan.

In the Republic of Azerbaijan the Milli Majlis (Parliament) exercises the legislative power. The Milli Majlis of the Republic of Azerbaijan consists of 125 deputies. On November 7, 2010 the elections for the 4th Convocation of Milli Mejlis was held in the Republic of Azerbaijan. The Milli Majlis consists of 105 men (84,0 %) and 20 women (16,0 % ).

The judicial power is implemented by the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Supreme Court of the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Court of Appeal of the Republic of Azerbaijan, regional and specialized courts of the Republic of Azerbaijan.

The political system of Azerbaijan is based on the principles of political pluralism. At present there are 42 political parties in the Republic of Azerbaijan. Political parties take part in the implementation of state power by representing themselves in legislative bodies and local municipal governments. 

At present 4000 public and non-governmental organizations are acting in Azerbaijan.

Economy (2013):  
Currency  manat
Manat rate to US dollar (May, 2014)  0.7844
Gross Domestic Product  57 708.2 mln. manats
Gross volume of industrial products 33696.7 mln.manats
Investments directed to fixed capital  17872.1 mln.manats
Gross volume of agricultural products 5244.6  mln.manats
Cargo transportation  218 mln. tons
Retail trade turnover 19655.9  mln.manats
Foreign trade turnover      39702.91  mln.manats
export 29 974.3  mln.manats
import  9 728.6  mln.manats
Revenue of state budget    15687.2 mln.manats
Population income 37 555.5  mln manats
Income per capita                                                                 4 039.6  manats
Average monthly wages 419 manats
Rate of inflation                                                                   4.8%


Updated: 23.04.2013